Olapade Takes Early Lead in Otukpo

MicCom Golf Club assistant professional, Sunday Olapade has taken an early lead at the on-going Francis Olo Pro-Am Championship at the Otukpo Golf and Country Club in Benue State.

Olapade, registered a 68, four under part at the opening round of the four days event to stand at one stroke advantage over Chukwudi Okoro of UBTH Golf Club in Edo state.

“It is difficult to say really what I am doing differently now. I think I can just pick out two things; my swing and encouragement that I get from my sponsor, Dan Mayuku” he said.

Olapade admitted that the game is still very open given that he is just one shot away from Korblah and Okoro whom he believes are not push overs

“I am very confident with this first days score and I only look to better it, I know I need to get better”

Vincent Torgah, the winner of the first event of the year, who automatically leads the ranking, is also lurking at one under par 71along with Pam Daniel of IBB International Golf and Country Club and Desire Ebela of Younde Golf Club in Cameroon.

The Francis Olo Pro-Am Tournament teed-off on Thursday February 26 and would be rounded-off on Sunday March 1st, with winners sharing the 7 million Naira (about 35, 000 USD).

Other top players in contention at the event include Nojee Shofela of MicCom Golf Club, Francis Epe of Ikoyi Golf Club, former number one Gift Willy and Ibrahim Ocheje from Air Assault Golf Club in Port Harcourt.

Tournament Director of the Professional Golfers Association of Nigeria, PGAN, Martin Odoh added that the body is ready to put all her resources into making sure events are available for members regularly.

“This is a new event on the Tour Calendar and we are delighted that our members are putting up a befitting challenge for the title, that is one of the deliverables to the sponsor and we hope to get better”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>