Akpodiete Leads with Two Under in PH

Ogunnu-based Austin Akpodiete made a strong claim for the 21st Air Assault Open Championship earlier today with an opening score of 70, two under par that gave him an early lead in the four-day event.

He is shot ahead of two home-players Zamani Usman and Noah John.

“I am very glad for my score and I am looking forward to a great weekend.  I look forward to win the event and make it my first win of my professional golf career” he told pganigeria.com after his game yesterday.

Zamani Usman is an assistant professional player based at the host club and his knowledge of the course has helped his case. So it is for Noah Joan except that he is an amateur sharing the spotlight with the professionals.

Lurking behind after the first round with level par after first eighteen holes and with the chance of wresting the title are; Francis Ugbong, Nura Musa and Emmanuel Lucky.

Director of the Professional Golfers’ Association of Nigeria, Samson Lawal said he believes the association is living up to its promise to give opportunities to more talented golfers to be thrown up and give their career a boost.

“Today, you can hardly predict correctly who will win, except for few players. And I am glad the younger players are maturing into the competition. That is one of our goals at the leadership of the PGA” he said.

Defending champion of the title, Mike Ubi is still in four shot range of the lease with his 74, two over par and is expected to give a fight as the game runs into the weekend.

The is N5 million naira as stake as total purse at the event and the event is expected to be concluded on Sunday November 26, 2016.


1 AKPODIETE Akpodiete 70 -2
2 USMAN  Zamani 71 -1
3 NOAH John(Am) 71 -1
4 UGBONG Francis 72 E
5 EMMANUEL Lucky(Am) 72 E
6 NURA  Musa 72 E
7 ABUBAKAR Mustapha 73 1
8 SOFELA Nojeem 73 1
9 MARKUS Elisha 73 1
10 OKORO Chukwudi 73 1
11 EGBEDI Williams(Am) 73 1
12 WESLEY Ineye 73 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>