Akpodiete Takes His Steady Game to Final Round

No matter what the outcome of the final round is Austin Akpodiete display of calmness at the 21st Air Assault Open in Port Harcourt will go down as one of the highpoints of the event.

He is tied with Ibadan Golf Club professional, Emeka Obi atop the leaderboard at 212, four under par after 56 holes.But beyond the trailblazing 67, five under that Obi returned on Saturday, it is Akpodiete’s consistence that might hold the ace at the closing round.

“I am very satisfied with my game right now, I guess a lot of personal issues had weighed too much on my game in the past and I am beginning to compartmentalize that in my mind and it has been helpful.

“Like everybody here, I would love to win this event and register my first PGA win” Akpodiete told pganigeria.com

The best he has finished on the Tour was a second runner-up at Francis Olo Birthday Championship in Oturkpo last year, but Emeka’s Obi’s experience and the army of brilliant scores that dropped in the third round will not make Akpodiete’s dream come easy.

Kingsley Oparakwu and Izang Ayuba both returned four under to close-in on the title at joint third place. Ugochukwu Kingsley also returned a 69 on his card. Meanwhile homeboy Egbedi Williams has been the leading light of  amateur players as he rub shoulders with the professional with his immaculate one under score after three rounds.

The game ends on Sunday with the finals of the all the categories but the spotlight will be on who takes over from Mike Ubi as the 21st Air Assault Open Champion.

OBI Emeka 73 72 67 212 -4
AKPODIETE Austin 70 71 71 212 -4
EGBEDI Williams(Am) 73 69 73 215 -1
OPARAKU Kingsley 73 75 68 216 E
IZANG Ayuba 75 73 68 216 E
UGOCHUKWU Kingsley 76 72 69 217 1
OLAPADE Sunday 75 72 70 217 1
PATRICK Paul 74 68 75 217 1
ONUH Francis 74 71 73 218 2
OGUNSANYA Goke 74 75 71 220 4
ISIFE Chimere(Am) 74 74 72 220 4
WILLY Gift 73 74 73 220 4
ANDREW Emmanuel(Am) 75 71 74 220 4



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>