Onumajuru Takes Driving seat in Aba

The more things change at the on-going Governor’s Cup in Aba, the more it remains the same.

Kingsley Oparaku lost grip of his first day lead only to be  replaced at the top by another home grown player, Magnus Onumajuru, whose root in golf (just like Oparaku) is tied to the merchant city of Aba.

Onumajuru just needed to return a score with one stroke better than his first day feat to displace Oparaku, He presently leads with (71, 70), one under to pave the way for a promising weekend that may see him change the tangent of his professional golf career.

“I am very happy to be here today. The back nine has been very tough here. I had three under going out but returned two over on my inward nine. I was punished at the back nine too in the first round. Holes 10 to 16 has been particularly tricky, and I guess that is the reality of the course.” He said.

Oparakwu slipped from his four strokes advantage when he posted  75, four over to remain at level par in second place.

“I had a tough round, he said, but I am hopeful the weekend will give more opportunity and I am prepared to take them” he said

Chukwudi Okoro, Patrick Paul and Daniel Pare are still in hot chase for the championship too, while Lateef Lasisi has taken over substantially as the leader of the senior tour.

Horde of amateur players from most Eastern golf course will be joining the fray from Saturday December 10 and will be hoping to have a fell of the new look Aba, Golf Club.

The state Governor Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu, is expected at the closing ceremony of the event to crown the winner of the event.


1 ONUMAJURU Magnus 71 70 141 -1
2 OPARAKU Kingsley 67 75 142 E
3 OKORO Chukwudi 73 71 144 2
4 PATRICK Patrick 71 73 144 2
5 PAM Daniel 73 73 146 4
6 ABUBAKAR Mustapha 72 76 148 6
7 AGBEYEGBE Sam 75 73 148 6
8 OKOROMI J 79 71 150 8
9 AJIBOYE Tajudeen 76 75 151 9
10 AKPODIETE Friday 75 76 151 9
11 OKPE Stephen 75 76 151 9


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>